Nothin’ like home cookin’

I spend a lot of time over on Pet Connection, the best all around pet information website out there. And after reading discussion after discussion on the pet food recall of 2007 and now the more recent peanut product recalls, I’ve come to the realization that our food system (be it for human or pet) has too many holes in it to be safe. And pet food, I fear, is even less regulated that the human food system. I’ve decided that I want to pull Kasey out of the kibble cycle and I’ve started to mix a bit of kibble with a homemade diet.

I didn’t decide on this lightly and I didn’t just jump into it. I purchased two books: The Healthy Dog Cookbook by Jonna Anne with Mary Strauss, Canine Nutritionist, Shawn Messonnier, DVM, Veterinary Consultant; and Dr. Pitcairn’s Complete Guide to Natural Health for Dogs & Cats by Richard H. Pitcairn, DVM, PhD. And I’ve read all I could find and asked people I trusted.

So far I’ve made three recipes in bulk, all of which Kasey seems to love.  He has noticeably (even!)  more energy, and his poop as been lovely…well, for poop, you know.  I weighed him a few days ago, and I’m going to keep close track of his weight to make sure that’s not being adversely effected in either direction. I’m also being careful to make sure that he gets his calcium and other nutrient by feeding a variety of different recipes.

I’ll keep updating on my findings and how he changes or doesn’t change with this new diet.

0 Responses to “Nothin’ like home cookin’”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

